Reinstating a VT Educator License

The Vermont Online Licensing System for Educators



Resources and Information

- The Reinstatement process is for educators who wish to activate an endorsement that has expired.
- An Educator may reinstate any endorsement that they
 previously held regardless how long ago the license expired.
 You are required to reinstate an endorsement at the level in
 which it lapsed.
- Link to online system
- Activities that meet professional learning requirements
- Questions and Assistance: <u>aoe.licensinginfo@vermont.gov</u>
- Do not use Safari to access the system and apply for a license. It is NOT compatible and will not work.



Before you start....

- 1. You must be registered in the Online Licensing System aka ALiS
- 2. To register go to <u>our website and Click 'Register Here'</u>. For more information on Registering Please view the Registering in ALiS tutorial.
- 3. You need to update your profile information with:
 - Personal & Contact Information
 - <u>Current Employment</u> This is critical as your employment will link you with the correct Local Standards Board or the AOE for approval. Make sure that you select the correct SU and school information in the employment section of your profile. If you are not employed in a Vermont School please select "non-educational employment" or "other" and then complete the remaining details.
 - Education Details
- 4. You will need a credit card or checking account to complete the application process.



Professional Learning

Professional Learning for Level I Reinstatements:

- 45 hours of new learning per endorsement
- 15 hours of new learning specific to the endorsement being reinstated
- All professional learning within the three years preceding the reinstatement application

Professional Learning for Level II Reinstatements:

- 135 hours of new learning per endorsement (lapsed seven (7) year license)
- 45 hours of new learning specific to the endorsement being reinstated
- All professional learning within the seven years preceding the reinstatement application
- This will change after 2020



Additional requirements

Any additional documentation required by endorsement:

- Nurses
- □ Valid VT RN License
- □ Valid CPR-AED & First Aid
- PE teachers
- □ Valid CPR-AED & First Aid
- Health teachers
- □ Valid CPR-AED
- Driver Ed teachers
- □ Certified DMV Driving History



Begin the application

• To reinstate a license/endorsement an educator will select from What Do You Want to Do?

WHAT DO YOU WANT TO DO? View Pending Online Application(s) Update Profile Renew License(s) Add New Endorsement Reinstatement License(s) Print License Details Apply For Retired License Apply for New License Change Password PL Activity



Personal Information Tab

- Personal Information and Contact Information screen will open and educator can review and edit.
- If all is accurate SAVE & Go to Next Step.
- Do not toggle between the tabs in the application, your information will not save.

		Online Rein	istatement Applicat	ion	
				Fields marked with aste	erisk (*) are required.
PERSONAL INFORMATION INF Please review PERSONAL	UCENSE ORMATION PROFESSIONAL LEA	AILS & CRC INFORMATION	GOOD STANDING DECLARATION F	ATTESTATION ATTESTATION	
Personal Information					
Last Name * BOLTE Suffix Gender * Male SSN * xxx-xx-00	First Name * Maiden Names/O Ethnicity * 51	ther First & Last Names 🛛 🔞	USAIN Prefer not to answe ¥	Middle Name L. DOB * 01/01/1980 Race * Prefer not t	o answe V
Contact Information Our primary means of con	nmunication is by email. Please give	us an email address you will ch	eck regularly, including during the	summer.	
Country * Street 1 * City * Phone # - Ext. * Preferred E-mail *	United States GGN BRATTLEBORO 1111-1111 rebecca.gile@vermont.	Street 2 State/Province * Alternate Phone # - Ext. Alternate E-mail	Vermont V 111-111-1111 -	Zip * 05301 Fax	
	Reset	Save & Logout	Save & Go to Next Step	2	

License Information Tab

- License Information screen will appear.
- Educator will select Requested Action for endorsement wished to reinstate.
- For multiple endorsements may choose which endorsements to reinstate.



Reset

Employment Details and Professional Learning Tab

 Educator verifies the info is correct – do not enter an end date. <u>Please see our tutorial on adding employment</u>.
 Professional Learning also appears and educator has

option to select:

- YES PL has been submitted to L/RSB
- NO PL has not been submitted to L/RSB must then enter PL activities. <u>View an additional tutorial on</u> <u>adding PL</u>.
- Has option to add more PL if needed, even if Yes selected.
- Current L/RSB is listed at the bottom of this section



Employment Details and Professional Learning Screenshot

				Onli	ne Reinstatement	Application	
					Fields mark	ed with asterisk (*) a	re req
PERSONAL LIC INFORMATION INFOR	EMPLOYN RMATION PROFESSI	MENT DETAILS & ONAL LEARNING		CRC GOOD STANDI INFORMATION DECLARATIO	NG DISCLOSURE FORM	ATTESTATION	
mployment Detail					Add Employment	Delete Employn	nent
nter current employer –	do NOT enter end date	(for current	t employm	ent outside VT School choose '	'Other"). List previous educatio	nal employment on	ly for
revious 3 years.				1			
Employer Name	Start Date	End Date	%FTE	Continuing Employment	Employment Code		
Essex North SU	01/01/2013		100	Yes	Teacher - Level I, Level II and	Retired	
rofessional Learning A	Activities				Add Ac	inital Delete Act	
					Add Ac	ivity Delete Act	ivity
ist all the professional le ist it again. If you choose lave you provided the profe	earning activities comple e to list professional lear essional learning activities	ted. If you rning activit to your L/R	have alrea ies here yo SB? *	dy provided the professional le ou will be able to upload the do	parning activities to your L/RSB pounent(s) with the activities.	, you are not requir	ed to
ist all the professional le ist it again. If you choose lave you provided the profe Activity Name	earning activities complete e to list professional lear essional learning activities Start Date	eted. If you rning activit to your L/R End i Date I	have alrea ies here yo SB? * # of Hours	dy provided the professional le ou will be able to upload the do Description	How You Will Send Documents	, you are not requir O Yes Document(s)	ed to
List all the professional le ist it again. If you choose Have you provided the profi Activity Name Coursework	earning activities complete to list professional learning activities essional learning activities Start Date 01/01/2015	eted. If you rning activit to your L/R End a Date I	have alrea ies here yo SB? * # of Hours 45	dy provided the professional le ou will be able to upload the do Description Coursework	How You Will Send Documents Upload online	you are not require Yes Document(s) Documents (0)	ed to
ist all the professional le ist it again. If you choose lave you provided the profi Activity Name Coursework	earning activities complete to list professional learning activities essional learning activities Start Date 01/01/2015	eted. If you rning activit to your L/Rs End a Date I 2	have alrea ies here yo SB? * # of Hours 45 OUT CUTT	dy provided the professional le ou will be able to upload the do Description Coursework ent L/RSB: Essex North	Parning activities to your L/RSB pocument(s) with the activities. How You Will Send Documents Upload online	you are not require Yes (Document(s) Documents (0)	ed to
ist all the professional le st it again. If you choose lave you provided the profi Activity Name Coursework	earning activities complete to list professional learning activities Start Date 01/01/2015	eted. If you rning activit to your L/Rs End a Date I 2 Yo Reset	have alrea ies here yo SB? * # of Hours 45 Dur curr	by provided the professional le ou will be able to upload the do Description Coursework ent L/RSB: Essex North a & Logout	How You Will Send Documents Upload online	you are not require Yes Document(s) Documents (0)	
ist all the professional le ist it again. If you choose lave you provided the profe Activity Name Coursework	earning activities complete to list professional learning activities essional learning activities Start Date 01/01/2015	eted. If you rning activit to your L/R End i Date i 2 Yo Reset	have alrea ies here yo SB? * # of Hours 45 Our curr Save	by provided the professional le ou will be able to upload the do Description Coursework ent L/RSB: Essex North e & Logout	How You Will Send Documents Upload online	<pre>volume of the sector of t</pre>	

AGENCY OF EDUCATION

Professional Learning – Add Activity

Educator completes Activity Details, if activity applies specifically to endorsement – selects the endorsement to which it applies

Activity Details				
All educators must use the VSBPE ap Completion of a minimum of 3 credits Completion of a minimum of 6 credits Completion of a minimum of 9 credits 1 credit of professional learning is equ	proved guidelines for submitting Prof or 45 hours of professional learning. or 90 hours of professional learning. or 135 hours of professional learning. al to 15 hours.	essional Learning for Teachers or Adm	inistrators	
Activity Type *	Choose One	T	Activity Name *	
# Of Hours *			Start Date *	
How will you send Document(s)? *	Choose One 🔻		End Date	
Description *				
Expected or Actual Impact *				
Completed? *	Choose One 🔻			/
All educators must use the VSBPE ap	proved guidelines for submitting Prof	essional Learning for Teachers or Adm	inistrators	
Related Endorsement				
Related endorsement(s): If this g	oal is related to one or more endorse	ment, please select those endorsemen	t(s).	
2 -05 (English, Grades 7-12)				
Core Teaching Standards				
Click here to view the Vermont Core 1	Feaching Standards.			
The Learner and Learning	Content and Knowledge	Instructional Practice	Professional Responsibility	·

Assessment

Professional Learning and Ethical Practice

Learner Development

Content Knowlege

Submission to L/RSB

- You may upload your certificates in the 'documents' window
- Select submit to L/RSB

rofessional Learning Activities Add Activity Delete Activity							
List all the professional learning activagain. If you choose to list profession Have you provided the professional learning activation of the professional learning activation of the profession	vities complete nal learning ac arning activitie	ed. If you have tivities here y es to your L/RS	e already pr ou will be a B? *	ovided the professional learning active ble to upload the document(s) with	vities to your L/RSB, you are no the activities.	ot required to list it	
Activity Name	Start Date	End Date	# of Hours	Description	How You Will Send Documents	Document(s)	
TEST	08/02/2016	08/09/2016	45	TEST	Upload online	Documents (0)	
		Your c Reset	urrent L/ Save &	/RSB: Chittenden South Logout	SB		

Payment Screen

- Choose 'pay now' on the fee details screen, submit the non-refundable \$50 processing fee using a credit card or electronic check.
- Your reinstatement application has been submitted to the L/RSB for review.

Fee Detail Fee Details Additional licensing fees will be requested when application review is completed. Application Processing Fee - Non-Refundable \$50.00 Total Fee \$50.00



Pav Now

Checklist Screen

Reinstatement Confirmation will list:

- L/RSB name
- Transaction number

Educator can now upload

- Addition PL documentation or
- Any other relevant documentation

Reinstatement Application Submitted

Confirmation

Thank you for using our online services. Your reinstatement application is being submitted to the Barre Board for further review. Your online transaction number is 46715. Please read the checklist section for the items that will be reviewed by your Local/Regional Standards Board. You may attach supporting documents with each item.

If you would like to print your payment receipt <u>click here.</u> Or view the payment history section via your home menu.

Checklist

Item #	Item	View/Attach	Item Status
1	Professional Learning Activities Review	Documents (0)	Pending
2	Others	Documents (0)	N/A

L/RSB Review

- Educator's part is now done, so it is time for the L/RSB to review the reinstatement application.
- Once your L/RSB or the AOE reviews your reinstatement, you will receive a notification email prompting you to log back in and complete the criminal record check and legal forms.
- Log into your account and select View Pending Online Applications. Click the green complete application button.

Pending Online Application(s)

Pending Online Application(s)						
Application Type	Transaction #	Date	Current Step	Application Summary	View Details	Action
Online Reinstatement Application	2163	08/15/2016	Complete Reinstatement Application by Candidate (Chittenden South)	N/A	View Details	Complete Application

Criminal Record Check Tab

- Complete the criminal record check question, legal forms, and submit your application to the AOE for final review.
- The rest of the criminal record check process is completed via your 'checklist' when you submit your application. You will also pay the \$13.25 criminal record check fee when you submit your application.

		Online Reinstatement Application
		Fields marked with asterisk (*) are required
PERSONAL LICENSE EMPLOYMENT DETAIL INFORMATION INFORMATION PROFESSIONAL LEARN		GOOD STANDING DECLARATION DECLARATION DECLARATION
CRC Information		
Per federal regulations regarding Criminal Record Checks (CRC conducted for the Agency of Education. Printable forms will app); all applicants for License bear in your application ch	sure in Vermont need to complete a fingerprint supported CRC OK necklist at the time of submittal. The cost is \$12.00.
Place of Birth	Additional state(s	s) where I have resided or been employed?
City/Town *	Colorado	Mississippi Rhode Island
Country * United States	Hawaii	Montana Utah
	Illinois	New Brunswick Wyoming
State * Choose One 🗸	Massachusetts	New Hampshire
Reset	Save & Logout	Save & Go to Next Step

Good Standing Declaration Form

- You must select a response for each section. You may need to submit additional information depending on your response.
- When this step is complete, 'Save & Go to Next Step'

Online	Reinstatement Application		
	Fields marked with asterisk (*) are required		
PERSONAL LICENSE EMPLOYMENT DETAILS & CR INFORMATION INFORMATION PROFESSIONAL LEARNING INFORM	C GOOD STANDING DISCLOSURE ATTESTATION		
Good Standing Declarations			
Child Support (You MUST check one:)	Taxes (You MUST check one:)		
I am not subject to a child support order; Or I am subject to a child support order and I am in good standing or in full	 I am in good standing in regards to my Vermont Taxes (all returns are filed and paid); Or 		
compliance; Or	 I have never lived or worked in Vermont and do not owe Vermont taxes; Or 		
 I am not in good standing or in full compliance 	 The liability for any Vermont taxes due and payable is on appeal; Or 		
	 I am in compliance with a payment plan approved by Vermont Department of Taxes; Or 		
	 I am not in good standing in regards to my Vermont taxes 		
Unemployment Compensation (You MUST check one:)	District Court Fines / Judicial Bureau Fines (You MUST check one:)		
 This does not apply to me because I have never been an employer in 	 I do not have any unpaid judgments; Or 		
Vermont; Or	 I am in good standing with respect to any unpaid judgments; Or 		
 No contributions or payments in lieu of contributions are due and payable; Or 	 I am not in good standing in regards to unpaid District Court or Judicial 		
 The liability for any contributions or payments due and payable is on appeal; Or 	Bureau fines		
 I am in compliance with a payment plan approved by the commissioner; Or 			
 I am not in good standing in regards to unemployment compensation 			

Disclosure Form

- You must select a response for each section. You may need to submit additional information depending on your response.
- When this step is complete, 'Save & Go to Next Step'

	Online Reinstatement Application		
	Fields marked with a	sterisk (*) are requi
PERSONAL	I LICENSE EMPLOYMENT DETAILS & CRC GOOD STANDING DISCLOSURE FORM ATTESTATION		
Disclosure	Questions		
If the answ an automat of Educatio	er to any of the questions "A" through "I" is "yes", you must provide a complete explanation. A "yes" answer to any of those qu ic denial of licensure. The circumstances will be investigated and reviewed. If you have previously reported the same incident t n, please indicate so.	estions is o the Age	s not ency
	Question	Resp	onse
Α.	Have you ever been convicted of a felony or misdemeanor? If yes, please provide a written explanation and specify the court that issued the conviction. Please note that a plea of nolo contendere counts as a conviction of a criminal offense.	Q Yes	O No
в.	Do you have any pending criminal charges? If yes, please provide a written explanation and specify the court that has jurisdiction of the charges.	_ Yes	O No
с.	Have you ever had an adverse action taken against any application, certificate, or professional license in any state? Adverse action includes but is not limited to the following: letter of warning, reprimand, denial, suspension, revocation, or cancellation.	O Yes	O No
D.	Have you ever voluntarily surrendered a professional license or certificate or withdrawn an application for a professional license or certificate?	 Yes	O No
Е.	Is there any adverse action now pending against you in any state by any professional licensing agency or have you been notified of any ongoing or potential investigation or inquiry regarding any professional license?	 Yes	O No
F.	Have you ever resigned, entered into a settlement agreement, or otherwise left employment as a result of alleged misconduct or incompetence?	 Yes	O No
G.	Have you ever been disciplined, reprimanded, suspended, removed or discharged from employment or student teaching because of allegations of misconduct or incompetence?	 Yes	O No
н.	Are you now, or have you ever been, required to register as a sex offender in any jurisdiction of the United States, including any state, territory, commonwealth, the District of Columbia, or military, federal, or tribal jurisdiction?	O Yes	O No
1.	I acknowledge that the Vermont Agency of Education may receive updates to my criminal conviction record via VCCRIS (Vermont Criminal Conviction Record Internet Service) and may use this information to verify my answers to the above questions. I understand that this information will be used for reviewing my suitability for licensure. I further understand that within 30 days of receiving the results of the record check or update, I have the right to appeal the findings in writing to the Vermont Criminal Information Center, Department of Public Safety, 103 South Main Street, Waterbury, Vermont 05671-2101.	• Y	es

Save & Go to Next Step

Save & Logout

Reset

Attestation Form

- You MUST check off the Attestation to be able to submit your application. This is your form of electronic signature.
- Click **SUBMIT TO AOE** to submit your application for final review.

Online Reinstatement Application

Fields marked with asterisk (*) are required.

PERSONAL LICENSE EMPLO	OVMENT DETAILS & CRC GOOD STANDING DISCLOSURE FORM
Consent of Release of Information	
Place of Birth	
City/Town *	Berlin
Country *	United States 🔻
State *	Vermont T

You must check the following:

I hereby authorize release of any information of reports of abuse, neglect or exploitation substantiated against me and contained in Vermont Adult Abuse Registry and/or the Vermont Child Protection Registry to the Vermont Agency of Education.

Attestation

You must check the following:

- I certify that I have completed a Self-Assessment of my teaching and/or leadership practice or have not been practicing under this endorsement and therefore are not required to complete a Self-Assessment.
- I certify that the information provided on this application and in supporting documents and attachments is true and complete. I am aware that any falsification, misrepresentation or misstatement of material information may be grounds for denial of a license or for subsequent suspension or revocation thereof.
- I certify that I will complete the criminal record check process. Failure to do so could result in a licensing action pursuant to 16 V.S.A 1698(1)(F)



Payment and Criminal Record Check

- If you need to have a criminal record check completed, you will be prompted to pay the \$13.25 fee, in addition to the \$50 non-refundable processing fee. The fee is paid to the VT Dept. of Public Safety and is not refundable.
- Fingerprint Authorization Certificate form will be downloaded from the checklist which appears at submission. For more information <u>see our FAQs on CRCs</u>.
- Upload receipt of fingerprinting within fifteen (15) calendar days from date application fee was paid. If a receipt is not uploaded into your application checklist within fifteen (15) calendar days from the date the application fee was paid, the application will be closed and you will need to re-apply and incur additional non-refundable fees.
- <u>Fees for Law Enforcement Agencies who do the fingerprinting</u> The law enforcement agency that does your fingerprinting may charge their own fee for fingerprinting. This is completely at the discretion of the law enforcement agency.

Fee Details	
Criminal Record Check Fee - Non-Refundable	\$13.25
Total Fee	\$13.25

Pay Now

Checklist

• Upload your verification form and complete your CRC forms

Reinstatement Application Submitted

Confirmation

Thank you for using our online services. Your license reinstatement application is being submitted to the Vermont Agency of Education for further review. Your online transaction number is 46715. Please read the checklist item(s) sections for items under review. You may attach supporting documents with each item.

If you would like to print your payment receipt <u>click here.</u> Or view the payment history section via your home menu. If you would like to print your online application summary <u>click here</u>

Checklist

Item #	Item	View/Attach	Item Status
1	Review Good Standing Declaration	N/A	Pending
2	Review Disclosure form	N/A	Pending
3	Vermont Crime Information Center, Fingerprint Authorization Certificate.	Please click here to print the form you need to take to a fingerprinting center. Click here to view the Vermont Criminal Records Check packet that contains information about Vermont Fingerprint Identification Centers and instructions for out- of-state/country applicants.	Pending
4	Others	Documents (0)	N/A

Final Payment

• Once an AOE specialist reviews your application, and approves it, you will receive a notification email prompting you to log back into your account and complete the final payment. Click the green pay now button.

Pending Online Application(s)

AGENCY OF EDUCATION

Pending Online Application(s)										
Application Type	Transaction #	Date	Current Step	Application Summary	View Details	Action				
Online Reinstatement Application	2163	08/15/2016	Reinstatement Review and approval by AOE (Chittenden South)	Application Summary	View Details		Pay Now			

• You will then choose whether you would like to receive a formal copy of your license (additional fee of \$10). Choose yes or no then click pay now.

			Fields marked with asterisk (*) are r
Endorsement	Grade Limit	Subject Limit	Issue Official Copy of License *
1 -00 (Elementary Education, Grades K-6)	None	None	Yes 🔻
3 -85 (Consulting Teacher, Grades PK-12)	None	None	No
E 1 3	ndorsement -00 (Elementary Education, Grades K-6) -85 (Consulting Teacher, Grades PK-12)	ndorsement Grade Limit -00 (Elementary Education, Grades K-6) None -85 (Consulting Teacher, Grades PK-12) None	ndorsement Grade Limit Subject Limit -00 (Elementary Education, Grades K-6) None None -85 (Consulting Teacher, Grades PK-12) None None

Final Approval

- Proceed through the payment screens to submit your final payment.
- You will receive a payment receipt confirmation via email.
- An AOE specialist will now approve your reinstatement when payment is received. You will receive an email confirmation that your reinstatement is approved. You may then login to your account and print your license details. <u>Tutorial here</u>.

	Fee Detail
Fee Details	
License Printing Fee Reinstatement - Level I License fee	\$10.00 \$150.00
Total Fee	\$160.00



Pay Now

