Universal Access to Publicly Funded Prekindergarten Education, Act 166

Overview

Act 166, signed into law in 2014, provides for universal access to publicly funded prekindergarten education. The law will go into full effect in 2016. Learn more.

Families

More information coming soon.

Implementing a PreK Program

All public and private prekindergarten education programs, including Head Start and public school operated programs, must meet specific requirements to operate a PreK program in Vermont. Learn more.

Universal Prekindergarten Education

Act 166 Rules

The Agency of Education, in collaboration with the Agency of Human Services, created administrative rules to guide Act 166 implementation.

Statewide Prekindergarten Tuition Rate

This amount is adjusted each year by the New England Economic Project cumulative price index for state and local government purchases of goods and services.  Districts paying tuition for prekindergarten education on behalf of a prekindergarten child to a prequalified prekindergarten education program (private or public) shall pay at the statewide rate for 10 hours per week for 35 weeks annually.

Implementation

Webinars Related to Act 166

Register for Upcoming Webinars

Frequently Asked Questions

These Frequently Asked Questions related to Act 166 implementation were gathered by the AOE and Agency of Human Services. Answers are based on draft rules that are in promulgation; which may change once the rulemaking process is completed.


Families


Implementing a Prekindergarten Education Program

Prequalified Programs

All public and private prekindergarten education programs, including Head Start and public school operated programs, must apply for prequalification status, whether the program is an existing program or a new program. Prior qualification does not apply.

List of Prequalified Providers

Apply for Prequalification

All applications to become a prequalified provider MUST be submitted online. The Agency of Education and the Department for Children and Families will review completed applications, determine eligibility, and notify applicants within 30 business days.

Plan for Increasing Program Quality to (at least) 4 Stars in Vermont’s Step Ahead Recognition System

Programs that have at least 3 Stars may provide prekindergarten education if they have an approved 2-year plan to meet the required program quality standards.

Required Prekindergarten Child Assessments

All publicly funded prekindergarten programs are required to report on the progress of children on an annual basisusing the online Teaching Strategies GOLD child assessment.

Order the online Teaching Strategies GOLD assessment under the Vermont Agency of Education’s umbrella agreement.

District-Partner Agreements

Even though AOE and AHS monitor prequalified PreK programs compliance with Act 166, school districts will still need to establish an agreement with each of their partner programs.

Public Schools: Establishing Regions, Establishing Programs, Expanding Programs

Prior approval from the Agencies of Education and Human Services must be received before a school district may establish a school operated prekindergarten education program or create a prekindergarten education region. This new requirement applies to all school districts and replaces the community needs assessment districts were required to complete under Act 62.

Establishment of a Prekindergarten Education Region

Act 166 provides for the establishment of geographic limitations or “Prekindergarten Regions” in which a school board may choose to propose to limit the geographic area within which it will pay tuition for prekindergarten education.

List of Approved Regions and Applications to Establish a Region Under Review

Applications to establish a PreK Region beginning with the 2017 - 2018 school year are due November 15, 2016. Decisions on establishing a PreK Region will be made by February 15, 2017.

Establishment of a Public School Operated Prekindergarten Education Program

Responses to completed applications will be provided within 30 business days from submission of a complete application. Only applications submitted online will be accepted. 

Expansion of a Public School Operated Prekindergarten Education Program

Responses to completed applications will be provided within 30 business days from submission of a complete application. Only applications submitted online will be accepted. 

Questions?

Melissa Riegel-Garrett, Pre-K Coordinator, at melissa.riegelgarrett@vermont.gov or (802) 479-1412

Page Last Updated on August 5, 2016