Vermont Alternate Assessment

Without exception, all publicly funded students enrolled in grades 3-8 and 11 in Vermont schools must be accounted for in the statewide assessment system. Most students participate in the general statewide assessments with no accommodations while a small percentage of students take the general assessment using approved accommodations when necessary. An even smaller number of students (approximately 500) participate in the assessment accountability system using the Vermont alternate assessment. The alternate assessment allows students with significant cognitive disabilities (SWSD) (to demonstrate their knowledge and skills on core academic content and for their performance scores to be included in school accountability.

As a result of the state's adoption the Common Core State Standards (CCSS) in English Language Arts and Mathematics and the Next Generation Science Standards (NGSS), Vermont is currently transitioning to a new set of statewide assessments, including new alternate assessments.

Vermont has joined with the seventeen state Dynamic Learning Maps consortium(DLM) to help develop and implement a comprehensive instructional and testing system for SWSD in Language Arts and Math. The DLM is scheduled to be fully operational in school year 2014-2015. Similarly, Vermont is expected to join with other states to develop a new alternate science assessment aligned to the NGSS. This assessment will, however, not be available until at least 2016. In the meantime, students participating in the alternate assessment will continue to complete the Vermont Alternate Assessment Portfolio (VTAAP).

Reading & Math - Dynamic Learning Maps (DLM)



Vermont is transitioning to a new alternate assessment (Dynamic Learning Maps-DLM) in the content areas of reading and math. The Science VTAAP will continue to be administered until a new general science assessment is developed to measure the Next Generation Science Standards (NGSS). Find answers to all of your alternate assessment questions.

2013 -2014 Standards & Assessment Implementation Guide for Common Core State Standards (CCSS), Next Generation Science Standards (NGSS), Smarter Balanced Assessment (SBAC Assessments) System, and Dynamic Learning Maps (DLM)

As a result of the adoption of Common Core State Standards and Next Generation Science Standards and the development of new assessments to measure student achievement of those standards, the Agency of Education (AOE) has worked with an internal and external group to develop the 2013–2014 Standards and Assessment Implementation Guide. This guide builds on the previous Common Core State Standards Implementation Guide and attempts to coordinate these various state-wide efforts.

Professional Learning Opportunities
View the agency's Calendar of Events for information about agency-sponsored events and links to registration.


Linda Moreno at or (802) 479-1309

Patti Shane at or (802) 479-1443

Page Last Updated on February 24, 2015