Spring Testing Window: March 30, 2015 – May 15, 2015. Learn more about Dynamic Learning Maps.

The 2015 BEST/MTSS Summer Institute is offering a mini-course that will address the needs of all learners, including the needs of learners with complex disabilities. Learn more and register for 2015 BEST/MTSS Institute’s Strand G.

Reading & Math


Students with significant disabilities (SWSD) enrolled in grades 3-8 and 11 are required to participate in a statewide assessment for reading and math. With the implementation of the Common Core State Standards (CCSS), 99% of Vermont students will now participate in the Smarter Balanced Assessment Consortium (SBAC) assessment beginning in Spring of 2015. Students, who cannot participate in the general assessment with accommodations, may be eligible to take the Dynamic Learning Maps (DLM), an alternate assessment, beginning in the fall of 2014. The DLM has been adopted by the state of Vermont and will replace the Vermont Alternate Assessment Portfolio (VTAAP) in reading and math. The Science VTAAP will continue to be administered to students in grades 4, 8, and 11 and replaces the Science NECAP assessment each spring.

The Smarter Balanced Assessment & Dynamic Learning Maps Consortiums: Assessment Options for Students with Special Assessment Needs

This powerpoint provides an introduction to Vermont's two new assessments - Smarter Balanced Assessment Consortium (SBAC) and Dynamic Learning Maps (DLM) - for teachers, special educators, and other professionals who serve students with special assessment needs. Strategies and information needed to complete assessment participation components of IEPs, 504 plans or EST plans are emphasized.

Statewide Assessment and Students with Disabilities

Presented to the Vermont Family Network by State Testing Director Michael Hock and Alternate Assessment Coordinator Cindy Moran. With the implementation of the Common Core State Standards (CCSS) in Vermont, many parents of students with disabilities are concerned about the statewide assessment of these standards and how their children will meaningfully participate. Click here to view the webinar. Click here to view the PowerPoint.

Common Core Essential Elements (CCEE)

The Common Core Essential Elements (CCEE) are specific statements of knowledge and skills that are linked to the grade-level specific expectations in the Common Core State Standards (CCSS) and specify learning targets for students with significant cognitive disabilities. The Dynamic Learning Maps (DLM) consortium developed the Common Core Essential Elements to build a bridge from the content in the Common Core State Standards to expectations for students with the most significant cognitive disabilities. It is important for educators who instruct this population of students to get to know and use these Essential Elements for the purposes of program development. IEPs must be linked to these Essential Elements so that students will receive the appropriate instruction in order to meet the criteria for participation in the alternate assessment.


Patti Shane at patti.shane@state.vt.us or (802) 479-1443

Page Last Updated on March 12, 2015