The Agency of Education, individually and in collaboration with a number of other organizations, supports early education initiatives in many ways.
Publicly Funded Prekindergarten Education
Vermont school districts provide publicly funded prekindergarten (preK) education for three, four, and five year old children not attending kindergarten by establishing partnerships with prequalified early care and education programs, by operating a prequalified preK program, or by doing both.
- Act 166, An Act Related to Universal Publicly Funded Prekindergarten
In the 2014 Legislative Session, legislators passed and Governor Shumlin signed Act 166 which requires all Vermont school districts to provide universal publicly funded prekindergarten education for a minimum of ten hours per week for 35 weeks annually for all 3, 4 and 5yearold children who are not enrolled in kindergarten. Act 166 was to come into effect on July 1, 2015; however, as a consequence of the Transition Relief Bulletin, school districts may opt to wait until July 1, 2016 to fully implement Act 166.
- Act 62 - An
Act Relating to Prekindergarten Education
Act 62 was signed into law in 2007. It reaffirms a long-standing practice of state and local support for publicly-funded prekindergarten education for 3-5 year old children by schools and private programs. While not a mandatory program for towns or children, it allows interested communities
to provide limited early education services in quality settings. NOTE: This link also provides information about Act 132 of 2008 (An Act Related to Ensuring Quality in Prekindergarten Programs) that amended Act 62 in three major ways.
Preschool Development Expansion Grants
Vermont is now accepting year two applications for Preschool Development Expansion Grants (PDEG) sub-grants. All interested programs are expected to apply annually for the duration of the grant. For existing PDEG sub-grantees, this is an opportunity to request additional funding to enroll higher numbers of new children and improve preschool programs.
Deadline Extended: The Year 2 PDEG sub-grantee application deadline has been extended from June 15, 2016 to June 23, 2016. Please note, Year 1 PDEG awardees are expected to apply for Year 2 funds.
Framework for Vermont’s Early Childhood Comprehensive Assessment System
The Vermont Agency of Education requests input on the Framework for Vermont’s Early Childhood Comprehensive Assessment System. The purpose of this document is to provide a framework of currently utilized early childhood assessments and current initiatives that support child assessment and screening, as well as an initial plan for implementation of a statewide comprehensive assessment system for Vermont. Vermont’s Framework is intended to be referenced and used over an extended period of time for reflection, self-evaluation, and improvement in Early Childhood (birth - 3rd grade) efforts. This framework helps to address key questions facing those who are developing birth - 3rd grade assessment approaches in their schools, districts, and communities. Submit your feedback online.
Direct any questions to Katie McCarthy, PreK Inclusion Coordinator, at firstname.lastname@example.org.
Early Education Initiative
Established by the Legislature in 1987, the Early Education Initiative (EEI) prepares at-risk preschool children for success in kindergarten and beyond. EEI serves children who are ineligible or inadequately served by existing early childhood
education programs. Coordinated with community programs to avoid duplication and to make the best possible use of resources, EEI services also fill gaps created by restrictive requirements or
Proposal Application Process for 2014-2015
Applications for the Early Education Initiative grant program are now available. EEI was established by the Vermont Legislature in 1987 to provide early education opportunities for three- and four-year-olds who are at-risk. The EEI grant is a one-year grant awarded through a competitive process; the range for EEI grants is $10,000 to $20,000.
This statewide program coordinates early childhood special education
services for children ages three through five. Services are administered by local school districts in conjunction with local early childhood service providers to ensure inclusive educational environments.
Individuals with Disabilities Education Act (IDEA) - Part C
provides for early intervention services for infants and toddlers
with disabilities and their families. Implementation of these
services in Vermont is through a family-centered coordinated
system called CIS/Early Intervention. The Agency of Human
Services and the Vermont Agency of Education share responsibility
for implementation as co-lead agencies. The Vermont Department of
Health, as project partner, provides administrative support.
Title I Preschool/Migrant Preschool
Many Vermont school districts receive federal Title I funds to
provide compensatory education services to children considered
at-risk or disadvantaged. Title I funds may be used to support a
school's preschool program for these children. In addition,
three- and four-year old children who qualify for migrant status
are eligible to receive early education services supported by
Kate Rogers at email@example.com or (802) 479-1454
Page Last Updated on June 13, 2016