PROGRAMS & SERVICES: EARLY EDUCATION: ESSENTIAL EARLY EDUCATION (EEE) (Updated 11/6/13)
On May 24, 2013, Secretary Vilaseca and Commissioner Yacovone (AHS DCF) disseminated a joint agency memo to the field which specifies school district Part C Child Find responsibilities for the 2013-14 school year. In this video message, Secretary Vilaseca clarifies that as of July 1, 2014 school districts will no longer be responsible for paying for or conducting initial evaluations to determine eligibility for Part C services for children under 3 years of age.
This statewide program coordinates early childhood special education services for children ages three through five. Services are administered by local school districts in conjunction with local early childhood service providers to ensure inclusive educational environments.
LINKS TO CURRENTLY AVAILABLE INFORMATION
IDEA Part C to B Transition Guidance and Implementation of ‘Potentially Eligible’ at Age 3 These documents will provide additional guidance from the Agency of Education (AOE) and the Agency of Human Services (AHS), Department for Children and Families (DCF) on implementation of the newly revised Vermont Special Education Rule 2360.5. The guidance focuses on children exiting Children’s Integrated Services/Early Intervention services (CIS/EI) and who may be ‘Potentially Eligible’ for Part B Early Childhood Special Education services at age 3. Implementation of this section of the rule will begin on November 15th, 2013.
Vermont IDEA Part C Rule Changes Effective on July 1, 2013 Below you will find a second AOE/AHS joint agency memo on Part C Rules Implementation dated June 12, 2013. You will also find the initial memo (May 24th) from Secretary Vilaseca and Commissioner Yacovone and current Late Referral Policy and Procedures document which was revised in 2012. The memo provides accompanying guidance for these exceptions and will be further clarified in an upcoming webinar that will be recorded and posted on the AOE, AHS and Vermont Family Network websites for on-going reference.
New IEP Form for Essential Early Education The new IEP for EEE form is used for children ages 3 through 5 years who have been determined eligible to receive early childhood special education services/EEE services. As of July 1st 2012, users of the IEP for EEE form will develop and document appropriate special education and related services necessary to address eligible student’s educational needs. The new IEP for EEE form integrates IDEA Part B Early Childhood Outcomes into the IEP process.
Part C to Part B Transition Policies, Procedures and Practices Look at what’s new for early childhood professional development! This new e-learning training module on Part C to Part B Transition has been developed to provide guidance to early childhood professionals responsible for the provision of a smooth and effective transition for children who have received Children’s Integrated Services/Early Intervention services and are eligible to receive school district Essential Early Education services. The foundation of this e-learning module is rooted in evidence based practices and is in compliance with Individual with Disabilities Education Act (IDEA) Part C and Part B rules and regulations on transition.
Part C Regulation Changes Around Late Referrals to Part C Early Intervention This e-learning module highlights new Part C regulation changes around Late Referrals to Part C Early Intervention. This training is intended for special education directors/administrators, CIS Coordinators, Early Intervention Providers and Essential Early Education Teams. It provides guidance around procedures and best practice when a child is referred to CIS Early Intervention close their third birthday.
Survey on Participation in IDEA Part C (Infants and Toddlers with Disabilities) for FY2011 Under IDEA, Part C, the State of Vermont must provide assurance that the total amount of state and local funds spent for Part C services meets or exceeds the expenditures for the prior year. In order to be able to provide this assurance, Vermont's Lead Agencies for Part C (Agency of Human Services and Agency of Education) need to know what funds are being spent by all agencies.
Survey This survey is to collect information from Vermont supervisory unions on their contributions toward Part C and is due September 15th, 2011.
Re-examination of School District Part C Child Find ResponsibilityPDF On June 23rd 2010, Commissioner’s Vilesaca (DOE) and Dale (AHS) approved a joint agency memorandum regarding school district and Part C host agency Child Find responsibility and coordination for children from birth up to three years old. The memo charges that the DOE and AHS re-examine how the current system functions in all regions of the state. The goal is to determine how to improve the Part C Child Find system in order to best identify, locate and evaluate young children birth to 3 who are suspected of being a child with a developmental delay and/or disability and may be in need of Part C early intervention services.
Early Childhood Outcomes (ECO) Reporting Materials The Individuals with Disabilities Education Improvement Act (IDEIA) requires states to report child outcomes data for children who receive early intervention services (birth to age three) or early childhood special education (three through five years of age) on an annual basis. Vermont’s first child outcomes report included entry data only; this report was due to the Office of Special Education Programs (OSEP) at the U.S. Department of Education on July 1, 2007.
Additional Early Childhood Outcomes Center (ECOC) Resources
Age-Expected Child Development From Birth to 5 YearsPDF The ECOC developed a list of links to resources that provide different kinds of information about age-expected skills and behaviors observed in children of from birth to 5 years. This kind of information may be helpful for providers and family members in discussions about child outcomes summary form ratings.