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Community-Based Early Childhood Programs: What does Act 166 mean for you?

Act 166, passed by the Vermont legislature in 2014, entitles all three, four, and five year-olds not
enrolled in kindergarten to ten hours per week of publicly funded prekindergarten education (pre-K)
for the thirty-five week school year.

The law allows families to choose from a variety of pre-K programs.

Whichever prequalified pre-K program a family chooses, tuition for 10-hours will be paid by the local school

district, unless the district is within an approved Pre-K Region. Enrollment options include:

¢ A prequalified pre-K program operated by the local school district

¢ A prequalified pre-K program operated by another school district that accepts out-of-district students
located anywhere in Vermont or, within the approved pre-K region.

¢ A prequalified community-based (including Head Start) pre-K program located anywhere in Vermont or,
within the approved pre-K region.

Your participation is VOLUNTARY; if you are interested in providing publicly funded pre-K, you have to
be prequalified:
In order to be considered for prequalification, a program must:
¢ Have NAEYC accreditation OR 4 or 5 STARS or 3 STARS with a plan to reach 4 within 2yrs.
¢ Align curriculum to the Vermont Early Learning Standards
¢ Have a VT AOE licensed early childhood educator or early childhood special educator on staff according
to type of program:
o Private Center-Based =1 licensed teacher per program
o Family Child Care=1 licensed teacher OR a licensed mentor teacher for a min of 3hrs/wk
¢ Use Teaching Strategies GOLD (TSG) online assessment system and participate in (free) trainings to ensure
reliable staff usage of TSG
¢ Comply with all requirements of federal and state laws for your enrolled children with special needs
including:
o Allowing access by school district early childhood special education and related service personnel.
o Federal: ADA,504, IDEA and State: VT Child Care Program Licensing Regulations
¢ Operate a non-religious program
e Apply all of the statewide tuition received for 10 hours of publically funded pre-K to the families’ tuition.
Prequalification Application

In addition, it is recommended that you establish and maintain relationships with your schools:

¢ Keep them informed of your intention to become prequalified and the number of eligible children you
have enrolled (assists districts in their budgeting)

¢ Connect with them to let them know you are pre-qualified and to understand their enrollment process

¢ Sign a written agreement with them to establish the payment schedule and any other formal aspects to
your relationship. Sample Agreement

More information is online at the ACT 166 webpage
For more information about IEP, 504, and ADA please see the Serving Children with Disabilities in a
Public PreK Program webinar

Contact_Melissa.RiegelGarrett@vermont.gov with additional questions

Created: October 22, 2015


http://form.jotform.us/form/51295581081153
http://education.vermont.gov/documents/edu-act166-district-partnership-agreement-template.pdf
http://education.vermont.gov/act-166
https://attendee.gotowebinar.com/recording/2645768391035886593
https://attendee.gotowebinar.com/recording/2645768391035886593
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