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 Parents:  

What does Vermont’s new Universal Pre-Kindergarten Law  
mean for you? 

If you have a child between the ages of three and five and not yet in kindergarten, your 
child may be able to receive ten hours per week of publically funded prekindergarten 
education (pre-K)! 
Attending a high-quality preschool program prepares your child for kindergarten and beyond.  
In Vermont, School Districts are mandated to offer prekindergarten options– 
enrollment/participation is a family choice– voluntary! Also, pre-K happens in prequalified pre-
K programs in schools or community-based programs. 
 

If you are interested in receiving 10 hours of free pre-K experiences for your child 
connect with your local elementary school to learn how to sign up. 

 
Where can I find a prequalified prekindergarten education program for my child? 
Search the list of prequalified providers by town to find out what programs are qualified to 
offer preschool in your area. These programs may be in your local school or in a community-
based program. Once you find a program you like, call to check for openings, a tour and/or 
request enrollment information 
 
How do I sign up? 
If your child is going to attend a program offered by the school, the school will process your 
enrollment.   

If your child is going to attend a qualified program outside of the school (in the community) 
you will have to enroll both with the program/provider (for your child’s place in the program) 
and with your school district (to ensure tuition funding for your child’s 10-hours is sent to the 
program). 

What Does the Pre-k Funding Cover? 
The funding is to cover 10 hours a week of prekindergarten education for 35 weeks (school 
year). If your child attends more than 10 hours, 35 weeks you are responsible to cover the 
tuition for the additional hours/weeks.  

If you are enrolling in a community-based program it is important you ask what your actual 
tuition responsibilities will be and receive this information in writing. 

More information is online at the ACT 166 webpage  

http://www.brightfutures.dcf.state.vt.us/vtcc/process.do?0Mmr3gjumkz13-SgYEjWekr3%3dxguw3YEa.aU7zaju.xnn.xGOSh-SO-GG%2bSO%256UGq%256UGq.S6SgwEkeUs3peYY.wjRszYgwUVm3kmLmkkUs_umUkYAgsUWVjUVm3mWgwkmpwUVm31mLUjsegkz13S00hhG0O0qS60_S0
http://education.vermont.gov/act-166
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