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School Districts: What does Act 166 mean for you?

Act 166, passed by the Vermont legislature in 2014, entitles all three, four, and five year-olds not
enrolled in kindergarten to ten hours per week of publicly funded PreKindergarten education

(PreK) for the thirty-five week school year.

The law allows families to choose from a variety of PreK programs.
Whichever prequalified PreK program a family chooses, tuition for 10-hours will be paid by the local school
district. Enrollment options include:

A prequalified PreK program operated by the local school district
A prequalified PreK program operated by another school district that accepts out-of-district students
A prequalified community-based/HeadStart PreK program located anywhere in Vermont

Or, if there is an approved PreK region, any prequalified program in the region

Under Act 166, school districts should:

Identify a contact person to answer questions from families and community-based programs and/or develop
a communication outreach plan to inform families.

Become Familiar with Act 166 Rules & FAQ’s which can be found on the ACT 166 website.

Create a process for PreK registration. Children will need to register for publicly funded PreK-whether they

attend a school-based program or a community-based program. Use your kindergarten registration practices

as a model.

Check the Bright Futures Information System to confirm PreK programs requested by families are
prequalified and therefore eligible for PreK funding.

Create a process for collecting attendance from and making payments to community-based programs
providing PreK services.

Collect a signed letter of agreement from community-based programs providing PreK services for children

from your district. Sample Agreement

Ensure your own district-operated program is prequalified (if applicable)

Decide whether you will accept out of district students in your district operated programs (funded by the
student’s sending district).

Decide whether to establish a PreK Region, which limits the geographic area from which families select
prequalified PreK programs. To establish a PreK Region, a school board must submit an application to the
Secretaries of Education and Human Services.

Preview the PreK Region Application

Decide whether you want to establish or expand a district-operated PreK program. To expand or establish a
district-operated PreK program, the district must submit an application to the Agencies of Education and
Human Services.

Preview the Establishing a Public School Operated PreK Program Application

Preview the Expansion of a Public School Operated PreK Program Application

More information is online at the ACT 166 webpage

For more information about IEP, 504, and ADA please see the Serving Children with Disabilities in a Public PreK
Program webinar

Contact Melissa.RiegelGarrett@vermont.gov with additional questions
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http://education.vermont.gov/act-166
http://www.brightfutures.dcf.state.vt.us/vtcc/process.do?0Mmr3gjumkz13-SgYEjWekr3%3dxguw3YEa.aU7zaju.xnn.xGOSh-SO-GG%2bSO%256UGq%256UGq.S6SgwEkeUs3peYY.wjRszYgwUVm3kmLmkkUs_umUkYAgsUWVjUVm3mWgwkmpwUVm31mLUjsegkz13S00hhG0O0qS60_S0
http://education.vermont.gov/documents/edu-act166-district-partnership-agreement-template.pdf
http://education.vermont.gov/documents/edu-act166-application-establish-prek-region.pdf
http://education.vermont.gov/documents/edu-act166-application-establis-public-school-prek-program.pdf
http://education.vermont.gov/documents/edu-act166-application-expand-prek-program.pdf
http://education.vermont.gov/act-166
https://attendee.gotowebinar.com/recording/2645768391035886593
https://attendee.gotowebinar.com/recording/2645768391035886593
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