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New Program Review Application and FAQ

This FAQ is for Vermont Educator Preparation Programs who wish to add a new program.

Q: What is a new program?

A: A new program is defined by H.872 (Act 149) as “(ii) New program initiation. Colleges,
universities, and other educator preparation programs that do not have existing approved
ROPA programs, or that wish to add an additional program approved by ROPA shall pay a fee
of $2,000.00 for the initial program application.”

Q: How does our institution apply for a new program review?
A: Educator Preparation Programs are governed by the Vermont Standards Board of

Professional Educators (VSBPE) through the Results-Oriented Program Approval (ROPA)
process.

The Application for New Program Review includes three parts:

1. A formal letter from the president or head of the institution requesting a review is
received by the Agency of Education (AOE) at least six months before the program
review visit is conducted.

2. A completed application (see below) with all accompanying documents.

3. A non-refundable application fee of $2000.

Upon receipt of these materials, the VSBPE will consider the application and seek clarification
from the institution, as needed, before approving a visit. The visit date will be scheduled by the
AOE in cooperation with the institution. The Review Team will be determined by the AOE and
approved by the institution. The team will then be approved by the VSBPE.

At least two months prior to the scheduled visit, the Institutional Portfolio (IP) should be sent to
the AOE and members of the Review Team. The AOE reviews the IP and makes one of the
following determinations:

¢ Not enough information was provided for the visit to take place

¢ More information is needed prior to the visit
e Visit is ready to take place

Next the visit is conducted. A report is issued by the AOE and one of the following
determinations is made:
¢ Conditional approval for one year

¢ Conditional approval for two years

e Denial of request

Q: What s the fee to license a new program?
A: The Agency of Education New Program Initiation Fee is $2000, non-refundable fee and



submitted at the time of application. The check should be made payable to: Vermont
Agency of Education

Q: When can our institution submit a request for a new license program?
A: The application process for New Programs is open year round. New Program Applications

can be submitted electronically or by post to: Linda McSweeney, ROPA Consultant/Agency
of Education/219 North Main Street/Barre, VT 05651/email Linda.McSweeney@vermont.gov
Non-refundable checks need to be submitted by post.

Q: How long does it for new program approval?

A: The length of the process can vary depending upon a variety of factors including the
completeness of the application form, submission of fee, and the final approval of the
VSBPE which meets 10 months per year. Plan on submitting your application at least six
months prior to the first semester for the program.

Q: How does a new program receive full approval?
A. New programs may receive conditional approval for either one or two years and

are eligible for full approval at the end of a two-year period after a two-year report
has been received and approved by the VSBPE.

Questions?

Linda McSweeney, ROPA Consultant Linda.Mcsweeney@vermont.gov (802)479-7461

Monday - Friday 7:45 AM - 4:30 PM Licensing Help Line: Telephone: (802) 479 - 1700

Web page:  education.vermont.gov/educator-quality

E-mail: aoe.licensinginfo@vermont.gov

Mail to: Office of Educator Licensing Vermont Agency of Education 219 North Main St., Suite
402 Barre, Vermont 05641

FAQ New Program Page 2 of 2 7~ VERMONT
AGENCY OF EDUCATION
(Revised: December, 27 2016)


mailto:Linda.McSweeney@vermont.gov
mailto:Linda.Mcsweeney@vermont.gov
http://education.vermont.gov/educator-quality
mailto:aoe.licensinginfo@vermont.gov

