
Reinstating a 

VT Educator License

The Vermont Online Licensing 
System for Educators



Resources and Information

• The Reinstatement process is for educators who wish to 
activate an endorsement that expired. 

• An Educator may reinstate any endorsement that they 
previously held regardless how long ago the license expired. 
You are required to reinstate an endorsement at the level in 
which it lapsed.

• Link to online system 

• Activities that meet professional learning requirements

• Questions and Assistance: aoe.licensinginfo@vermont.gov

• Do not use Safari to access the system and apply for a 
license. It is NOT compatible and will not work.

https://alis.edlicensing.vermont.gov/login.aspx
mailto:aoe.licensinginfo@Vermont.gov


Before you start….

1. You must be registered in the Online Licensing System aka ALiS 

2. To register go to our website at: and Click ‘Register Here’. For more 
information on Registering Please view the Registering in ALiS tutorial.

3. You need to update your profile information with:

• Personal & Contact Information

• Current Employment - This is critical as your employment will link you 
with the correct Local Standards Board or the AOE for approval. Make sure 
that you select the correct SU and school information in the employment 
section of your profile. If you are not employed in a Vermont School please 
select “non-educational employment” or “other” and then complete the 
remaining details.

• Education Details

4. You will need a credit card or electronic checking account to complete the 
application process.

https://alis.edlicensing.vermont.gov/login.aspx
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=ERhJ2Je0Axo&list=PLaXzAQwtzpj7JtNrBlFXbQyCIP0hbSX5b&index=7


Professional Learning

Professional Learning for Level I Reinstatements:

• 45 hours of new learning per endorsement

• 15 hours of new learning specific to the endorsement being 
reinstated

• All professional learning within the three years preceding the 
reinstatement application

Professional Learning for Level II Reinstatements:

• 135 hours of new learning per endorsement (lapsed seven (7) year 
license)

• 45 hours of new learning specific to the endorsement being 
reinstated

• All professional learning within the seven years preceding the 
reinstatement application 

• This will change after 2020



Additional requirements

Self-Assessment:

• Required if currently practicing under the endorsement to be 
reinstated.

Any additional documentation required by endorsement:

• Nurses

 Valid VT RN License

 Valid CPR-AED & First Aid

• PE teachers

 Valid CPR-AED & First Aid

• Health teachers

 Valid CPR-AED

• Driver Ed teachers

 Certified DMV Driving History



Criminal Record Check

• Authorization to release to AOE

• Letter of continuous employment

• Complete/new Criminal Record Check

• Depends on educator’s situation

• Not L/RSB responsibility



Begin the application

• To reinstate a license/endorsement an 
educator will select from What Do You 
Want to Do? 



Personal Information Tab

• Personal Information and Contact Information screen 
will open and educator can review and edit.

• If all is accurate – SAVE & Go to Next Step.

• Do not toggle between the tabs in the application, your 
information will not save.



License Information Tab

• License Information screen will appear.

• Educator will select Requested Action for 
endorsement wished to reinstate.

• For multiple endorsements may choose 
which endorsements to reinstate.



Employment Details and 

Professional Learning Tab
• Educator verifies the info is correct – do not enter an 

end date. Please see our tutorial on adding employment.

Professional Learning also appears and educator has 
option to select:  

• YES  - PL has been submitted to L/RSB

• No – PL has not been submitted to L/RSB – must then 
enter PL activities. View an additional tutorial on 
adding PL.

• Has option to add more PL if needed, even if Yes 
selected.

• Current L/RSB is listed at the bottom of this section 
(very important!!!)

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=ERhJ2Je0Axo&list=PLaXzAQwtzpj7JtNrBlFXbQyCIP0hbSX5b&index=7
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=D6JSqOyQ6zg&index=8&list=PLaXzAQwtzpj7JtNrBlFXbQyCIP0hbSX5b


Employment Details and 

Professional Learning Screenshot



Professional Learning – Add Activity

• Educator completes Activity Details

• If activity applies specifically to endorsement –
selects the endorsement to which it applies

• Checks applicable teaching/leadership 
standards.



Activity Detail Screen

• Select OK



Submission to L/RSB

• You may upload your certificates in the 
‘documents’ window

• Select submit to L/RSB



Payment Screen

• Choose ‘pay now’ on the fee details 
screen, submit payment using a credit 
card or electronic check.

• Your reinstatement application has been 
submitted to the L/RSB for review.



Checklist Screen

Reinstatement Confirmation will list:

• L/RSB name

• Transaction number

Educator can now upload

• Document of self-assessment or 

• Addition PL documentation or 

• Any other relevant documentation



L/RSB Review

• Educator’s part is now done, so it is time for the L/RSB to 
review the reinstatement application.

• Once your L/RSB or the AOE reviews your reinstatement, 
you will receive a notification email prompting you to log 
back in and complete the criminal record check and legal 
forms. 

• Log into your account and select View Pending Online 
Applications. Click the green complete application button. 



Criminal Record Check Tab

• Complete the criminal record check question, legal forms, 
and submit your application to the AOE for final review.

• The rest of the criminal record check process is completed 
via your ‘checklist’ when you submit your application. You 
will also pay the $16.50 criminal record check fee when 
you submit your application.



Good Standing Declaration Form

• You must select a response for each section. You may 
need to submit additional information depending on 
your response.    

• When this step is complete, ‘Save & Go to Next Step’



Disclosure Form

• You must select a response for each section. You may 
need to submit additional information depending on 
your response.    

• When this step is complete, ‘Save & Go to Next Step’



Attestation Form

• You MUST check off the Attestation to be able to submit your
application. This is your form of electronic signature.

• Click SUBMIT TO AOE to submit your application for final
review.

• If you need to have a criminal record check completed, you will be
prompted to pay the $16.50 fee.



Submission Checklist

• Click next to checklist item for authorization to release criminal
record check information (if applicable) and download the form.



Final Payment
• Once an AOE specialist reviews your application, and approves it, you will 

receive a notification email prompting you to log back into your account 
and complete the final payment. Click the green pay now button.

• You will then choose whether you would like to receive a formal copy of 
your license (additional fee of $10). Choose yes or no then click pay now.



Final Approval

• Proceed through the payment screens to submit
your final payment.

• You will receive a payment receipt confirmation
via email.

• An AOE specialist will now approve your
reinstatement when payment is received. You
will receive an email confirmation that your
reinstatement is approved. You may then login
to your account and print your license details.
Tutorial here.

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=ZGj19q8quUQ&index=4&list=PLaXzAQwtzpj7JtNrBlFXbQyCIP0hbSX5b
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