Special Education

The Agency of Education has overarching responsibility for compliance with the federal Individuals with Disabilities Education Act (IDEA) and the corresponding Vermont state regulations regarding the provision of a free and appropriate public education (FAPE) for students with disabilities. To accomplish this task, the Agency of Education employs a team of highly skilled professionals charged with assuring that all Vermont public and independent schools and early education programs educate students with disabilities consistent with the content and intent of the law.




Special Education Team

Special Education Technical Assistance Line: (802) 479-1255

State Director of Special Education: Cindy Moran, (802) 479-1432
Special Education Program Manager: Karen J. Hartman, (802) 479-1145
Early Childhood Special Education Director: Kate Rogers, (802) 479-1454

Regional Representatives and Coordinators

Central and Northeast: John Spinney, (802) 479-1495
Chittenden County: Tracy Harris, (802) 479-1421
Northwest Region: Laura Baker, (802) 479-1392
Southeast Region: Tonya Rutkowski, (802) 479-1245
Southwest Region: Ernie Wheeler, (802) 479-1252
Inclusion Coordinator: Autism and Low Incidence Disabilities: Chris Kane, (802) 479-1441
Special Education Consultant: Kascinda Fleming, (802) 479-1223

Contact Us

Vermont Agency of Education
219 North Main Street, Suite 402
Barre, VT 05641

(802) 479-1030 | aoe.edinfo@vermont.gov
Staff Directory | Division Phone Numbers

Connect with Us

Twitter icon
Facebook icon
Instagram icon
Google+ icon
YouTube icon
RSS icon