

Presentation to Act 76 Quality Workgroup

Tammy Bates, Early Education Programs Manager Wendy Scott, UPK State Coordinator June 17, 2024





High-Quality PreK Education Defined

Prekindergarten Education is the implementation of high-quality, effective instruction by licensed educators who use evidence-based practices within intentionally designed early learning environments. Early educators align curriculum with the Vermont Early Learning Standards while adapting experiences to support the full participation of each and every child to realize their full potential and promote positive outcomes.

10 Years of UPK Quality Indicators

UPK Prequalification
Application
Process STARS

Vermont Early Learning Standards (Birth to Grade 3) AOE Licensed Endorsements Early Childhood Educator (ECE) and Early Childhood Special Educator (ECSE)

Program Monitoring System Assessment Child Development Progress

Early Childhood Special Education

Early Multi tiered System of Supports (Early MTSS)



Public PreK AOE licensed ECE or ECSE direct PreK instruction in each classroom.

Private PreK AOE licensed ECE or ECSE onsite during 10 hours of UPK instruction per week.

Family Child Care Home (FCCH) PreK

- (1) Be an AOE licensed ECE/ECSE direct instruction for 10 hours per week.
- (2) Contract with an AOE licensed ECE/ECSE for direct instruction for 10 hours per week.
- (3) Be mentored for at least 3 hours/week by an AOE licensed ECE/ECSE.





NIEER Quality Benchmarks

Indicator	Vermont	Not Met
BA Degree	UPK Licensed ECE/ECSE not direct instruction(public only)	Licensed ECE/ECSE direct instruction in every classroom.
Asst. Teacher Degree	None	CDA or equivalent. Asst. Teachers are not recognized in Act 166.
Staff Professional Development (PD)	Lic. ECE/ECSE required Level I licensure 3 credits or 45 hours every 3 years & Level II licensure 6 credits or 90 hours every 5 years.	Require 15 hours/year. It would be nice to have some flexibility for meeting this as licensed educators have to meet roughly 15 hours or 1 credit of PD yearly.





VSBPE Rule 5900 Authority to Recommend for Licensure Approval & Results Orientated Program Approval (ROPA) Educator Preparation Program Standards and Quality indicators



VSBPE 16 V.S.A. §1693 AOE
Educator Licensing Bachelor's
degree in Early Childhood
Education with Vermont Core
Teaching Standards and Early
Childhood Education
Endorsement Competencies
(aligned with NAEYC standards)
and compliance with VSBPE
Rules for Educator Licensure.



VSBPE 16 V.S.A. §1693 AOE Educator Licensing educators are monitored, require professional development and fingerprinted/background clearances.



VSBPE Rule 5540 Licensing Endorsements-Rule 5440-36 Early Childhood Education (ECE) "The holder is authorized to teach young children birth through PK, PK through grade three, or birth through grade 3, as specified on the endorsement".

Vermont Standards Board for Professional Educators (VSBPE)

Act 76 Recommendation

We recommend that an AOE Licensed ECE or ECSE be in every classroom delivering direct instruction with curriculum aligned with the Vermont Early Learning Standards.

This is required of Public PreK programs and a NIEER Quality Indicator.





Act 76 Considerations

- Dartmouth The Class of 1964 Policy Research Shop <u>Vermont PreK and Childcare Expansion Report and Presentation</u> (under Thomas Lane) Rep. Peter Conlon requested this report for the House Education Committee.
- Learning Policy Institute <u>Teacher Preparation and Professional</u> <u>Development</u> Researchers have found that teachers are the number one in-school influence on student outcomes.
- National Association of State Boards of Education. <u>State Education Standard. Universal Pre-K in Tulsa: A Surprising Success</u>. In 1998, Oklahoma became the second state in the U.S. to offer free pre-K to all four-year-olds.
- P-3 Center <u>Bridging ECE & PreK-12 Systems</u> We work to improve the education continuum children experience from Birth (Preschool) through grade 3

References

- Vermont State Statute. <u>Title 16. Education. Chapter 51: Professional</u> Educators.
- Vermont Standards Board for Professional Educators (VSBPE) 16
 V.S.A. §1693. <u>VSBPE Rules Governing the Educators and the Preparation of Educational Professionals</u>
- •VSBPE Rule 5900 Authority to Recommend for Licensure Approval and Educator Preparation Programs (EPP) Results Oriented Program Approval (ROPA)
- •Vermont State Board of Education Rule Series 2600 Prekindergarten Education (Act 166 Universal Prekindergarten Education)





Contact:

Tammy.Bates@vermont.gov

Wendy.Scott@vermont.gov

