
Capacity & Funding Quality Workgroup 
Minimum Hours for School Day in Prekindergarten and Kindergarten 

 

 UPK (Act 166) UPK4 (Act 76) Kindergarten Grades 1-2 Grades 3-4 

Minimum required 
instructional hours 
 
● State Board Rules: 

Length of School 

Day 

 

● State Board Rules: 

Prekindergarten 

Education 

Min. 10 hours/week 
for thirty-five (35) 
weeks/academic year 

 Min. 2 instructional 
hours/day.   
 
In any calendar week, 
five school days may be 
counted if the total 
number of hours of 
instructional time is 
equal to or exceeds 10 
hours per week. 

Min. 4 instructional 
hours including recess, 
excluding lunch.  
 
In any calendar week, 
five school days may be 
counted if the total 
number of hours of 
instructional time is 
equal to or exceeds 20 
hours, including recess, 
excluding lunch. 

Min. 5 1/2 instructional 
hours, including recess, 
excluding lunch.  
 
In any calendar week, 5 
school days may be 
counted if the total 
number of hours of 
instructional time is 
equal to or exceeds 27 
1/2 hours, including 
recess, excluding lunch. 

Typical length of 
school day 

Varies by program  7 hours/day 
● How many PT 

programs across 
state? 

7 hours/day 7 hours/day 

 

Questions & Considerations: 

● Continuity: Should there be consistency across prekindergarten - grade 1 in what constitutes a full school day? 

○ What does the term “instructional hours” mean in State Board Rules? Does this include play?   

■  from the AOE website : "What is High-Quality, Effective Prekindergarten Education? What defines Vermont Universal 

Prekindergarten Education is the implementation of high-quality, effective instruction by licensed educators who 

use evidence-based practices within intentionally designed early learning environments. Early educators align 

curriculum with the Vermont Early Learning Standards while adapting experiences to support the full participation of 

each and every child to realize their full potential and promote successful outcomes."  

■ How many part-time K’s exist in VT schools? What should the standard for K be? 

● Dosage: How many hours are developmentally appropriate for prekindergarten?  

● Flexibility: How can options respond to family & community choice?  (e.g. focus on hours/week instead of hours/day?) 

○ How many school-based preks currently exist & are full? 

● Funding: What are the financial implications of full day instruction? (e.g. impact of ADM percentages) 
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