Vermont State Board of Education

August 21, 2024 Retreat Discussion of the Board's Structure



Members: 16 V.S.A. §161

- Membership consists of:
 - Eight nonstudent members, with priority given to the selection of persons with a demonstrated commitment to ensuring quality education for Vermont students
 - Two student members
 - Junior student member may not vote
 - Senior student member may vote
 - The Secretary of Education, who serves as a nonvoting member
- All members shall be appointed by the Governor with the advice and consent of the Senate.



Current State Board Membership

- Jennifer Deck Samuelson, Chair (2020 2/28/2026)
 - o Winhall; Chair, Winhall School Board; Attorney at Law
- Tammy Kolbe, Vice Chair (2021 2/28/2027)
 - o Warren; UVM Assoc. Prof. of Educational Leadership and Policy Studies; Principal Researcher at American Institutes for Research
- **Mohamed Diop** (2023 2/28/2029)
 - o Bristol; Director, Multilingual Learner Programs; Winooski School District
- **Grey Fearon** (2023 6/30/2025)
 - o Panton; Student Member; Vergennes Union High School
- Kim Gleason (2019 2/28/2025)
 - o Grand Isle; Former Chair, Essex Westford School District (EWSD); former Treasurer, VSBA; Substitute Teacher, EWSD
- Caleb Greenwood (2024 6/30/2026)
 - o Troy; Student Member, Lake Region Union High School
- Lyle Jepson (2021 2/28/2027)
 - o Rutland; Former teacher; former Principal, Fair Haven Union High School; former Director, Stafford Technical Center
- Tom Lovett (2021 2/28/2027)
 - Waterford; Teacher and former Head of School, St. Johnsbury Academy
- Jenna O'Farrell (2019 2/28/2025)
 - o St. Johnsbury; Former teacher, Assistant Principal, and Principal, St. Johnsbury School
- Richard Werner (2022 2/28/2024)
 - East Dover; Chair, Windham Central Supervisory Union; Chair, River Valleys School District
- Zoie Saunders, M. Ed., Interim Secretary of Education



Terms: 16 V.S.A. §161

- Nonstudent members:
 - Typically serve terms of six years beginning on March
 1st of the year in the which the appointments are made
- Student members:
 - Serve terms of two years beginning on July 1st of the year in which the appointments are made
 - Nonvoting in the first year
 - Voting in the second year



Executing our Work

- The Board shall be supported by adequate staff who shall report to the Board (16 V.S.A. §163(a))
- The Board shall meet monthly (16 V.S.A. §163(b))
 - Meetings are typically held on the 3rd Wednesday of the month
 - The Board typically meets in-person in April, May, September, and October
 - In-person meetings begin later to allow Board members and members of the public time to travel
 - In-person meetings may be held at the local school of a member whose term is expiring
 - Other meetings are typically held remotely and usually begin around 8:30am
- The Board shall also hold Special Meetings as required for the performance of its duties (16 V.S.A. §163(b))

Determining Our Work

• Statutes:

- Example: 16 V.S.A. §164 (State Board; general powers and duties) https://legislature.vermont.gov/statutes/section/16/003/00164
- Example: 3 V.S.A. §2702 (Secretary of Education)
 https://legislature.vermont.gov/statutes/section/03/049/02702

• Rules:

• Example: https://education.vermont.gov/state-board-councils/state-board/rules

• Legislative Acts:

- Example: Act 46 (2015) (An act relating to making amendments to education funding, education spending, and education governance)
- Example: Act 173 (2018) (An act relating to enhancing the effectiveness, availability, and equity of services provided to students who require additional support)
- Example: Act 176 (2022) (An act relating to the exploration, formation, and organization of union school districts and unified union school districts)



Organization

- Leadership
 - Biennially, the Board selects its Chair (16 V.S.A. §161(3))
 - Biennially, the Board typically selects a Vice-Chair
- Committee Structure
 - Allows the Board to work more efficiently
 - Committees meet independent of full Board meetings
 - Committees bring recommendations to the full Board for its discussion and vote



Current Committees and Membership

- Education Quality Standards (EQS) Committee

 Tammy Kolbe (Co-Chair), Kim Gleason (Co-Chair), Mohamed Diop, Richard
 Werner, Grey Fearon
- Rule Series 2200 Approvals Committee
 Tom Lovett (Chair), Jenna O'Farrell, Lyle Jepson
- Rule Series 2370 (Career and Technical Education) Update Committee Lyle Jepson, Tammy Kolbe, Tom Lovett, Rich Werner
- Roles and Responsibilities Committee
 Jennifer Samuelson, Tammy Kolbe, Mohamed Diop, Jenna O'Farrell



Questions?

