

Guidance on Driver Education Instruction During School Closure due to a Novel Coronavirus Outbreak

Purpose

The Agency of Education has received numerous questions regarding how driver education instructors may comply with driver education instructional requirements in light of the current school closure and whether instructors should continue to provide in-vehicle instruction while school is closed. This guidance addresses both questions.

This guidance pertains to AOE-licensed, public school driver education teachers. Private driver education instructors should consult guidance from the Vermont Department of Motor Vehicles.

Impacts of Governor Scott's Order for School Closure Period, March 18 - April 6

During this period of school closure ordered by the Governor, students are not to report to school and school employees are directed to report to work. Staff members may be required to report to work or to work remotely, depending on the needs of the district and the guidance of public health officials. During this closure period, regular educational services do not continue, and students are not expected to make educational progress. Other services, such as child care for essential public safety and healthcare workers, will be supported by the district's staff.

If it becomes necessary to extend this closure period beyond April 6, 2020 districts may also be asked to provide more formal educational services to students. All educational services, to the extent possible, would then be offered to all students through various remote and virtual means.

Guidance for Driver Education

Education statute 16 V.S.A. § 1045 and State Board of Education rules Section 2350 require that 30 hours of classroom instruction and 6 hours of behind-the-wheel instruction be provided to all driver education students. However, they do not require that driver education instructors provide that instruction via an in-person, face-to-face model. Furthermore, neither the statute nor the rules specify that this instruction must be provided concurrently

The COVID-19 situation has required that we modify instructional requirements and best practices for purposes of public health and safety. Should the period of school closure extend beyond April 6, 2020, driver education instructors, like all Vermont educators, may be expected to provide the classroom portion of the driver education instructional requirements to their students via remote learning.

Contact Information:

If you have questions about this document or would like additional information please contact: Tammy Pregent, AOE Driver Education Consultant, at tammy.pregent@vermont.gov.

No in-vehicle instruction should be provided until further notice because social distancing is not possible in vehicles. Further guidance on how to provide the in-vehicle component of instruction will be developed as the school closure situation unfolds.

In addition, further guidance regarding remote learning is under development and will be provided to all superintendents. Driver education instructors should direct questions to their administrators regarding how to best conduct remote instruction in their individual situations.

