



219 North Main Street, Suite 402, Barre, VT 05641 | 802-479-1030 | www.education.vermont.gov

Media Advisory: Vermont Recognizes U.S. Presidential Scholars *High School Students to be honored at Vermont Statehouse*

MONTPELIER – The Agency of Education will recognize several outstanding Vermont students as the 2015 Vermont U.S. Presidential Scholars at a ceremony at the Vermont Statehouse. Vermont's nominees will be eligible to apply for the U.S. Presidential Scholars Program.

What: Vermont U.S. Presidential Scholars Recognition Ceremony

Where: Statehouse House Chambers (followed by a reception at the Cedar Creek Room),

Montpelier

When: Thursday, December 3 at 5 p.m.

Who: Deputy Secretary Heather Bouchey; Social Studies Specialist Sigrid Olson; CTE Coordinator

Jay Ramsey; Honorees and Their Families

Honorees

Female Presidential Scholars

	Name	High School
1	Willoughby R. Forbes	Montpelier High School
2	Tillie Quattrone	U32
3	Delaney Reanna Bryant	North Country Union High School
4	Alyssa Cote	Danville School
5	Nicole Young	Danville School
6	Eloise Damerel Bisbee	Mount Mansfield Union
7	Kelsey Ensminger	Spaulding High School
8	Kelsey R Sherman	Mount Anthony Union High School
9	Emma Cijka	Otter Valley Union High School
10	Clementine O'Connor	Cabot School
11	Nadia Lake Clement	Thetford Academy

Male Presidential Scholars

	Name	High School
1	Ethan McCollister	U32
2	Colin Dana Myrick	North Country Union High School
3	James Moore III	Burr and Burton Academy
4	Coleton Loura-Bumps	Danville School
5	Luke Belleville	Canaan Schools
6	Matthew Ellison	Mt. Mansfield Union High School
7	Brenden Hay	Mount Anthony Union High School
8	Bhupinderjit Singh	BFA Fairfax

Career and Technical Education Presidential Scholars

	Name	CTE Center (High School)
1	Jonah Farrow	Stafford Technical Center (Mt. St. Joseph Academy)
2	Kelsey Jacobs	Randolph Technical Career Center (Randolph Union High School)
3	Abigail Wright	Stafford Technical Center (Fair Haven Union High School)
4	Robert Popeleski	Center for Technology, Essex (Mt. Mansfield Union High School)
5	Lydia Stricker	Burlington Technical Center ((Mt. Mansfield Union High School)

Background

The U.S. Presidential Scholars Program was established in 1964, by executive order of the President, to recognize and honor some of our nation's most distinguished graduating high school seniors. In 1979, the program was extended to recognize students who demonstrate exceptional talent in the visual, creative and performing arts. In 2015, the program was again extended to recognize students who demonstrate ability and accomplishment in career and technical education fields. Each year, up to 161 students are named as Presidential Scholars, one of the nation's highest honors for high school students, and the students are recognized at a ceremony in Washington, D.C.

For more information, go to: http://www2.ed.gov/programs/psp/index.html