

State Board of Education

Virtual via Microsoft Teams Call in Number: 1-802-828-7667 Conference ID:738 952 581#

State Board of Education Rule Series 2000 - Education Quality Standards Public Hearing

Date: October 3, 2023

Present:

State Board Members (SBE): Kimberly Gleason, Jennifer Samuelson

Agency of Education (AOE): Maureen Gaidys

Others: Sarah Buxton, Seth Riemer, Flor Diaz-Smith, Ethan Felson, Paula Cope, Jennifer Prue, Eli Francis, Dan Gottsegen, Jamie Spector, Phoebe, Jeremey Sternberg, Jessica Meller, Pam Goldman, Vera Windish, Rep. Elizabeth Burrows, James Pasch, Jamie Carroll, Adrienne Raymond, Susan Leff, Avram Patt, Kathy Shapiro, Liz Curry, Alyssa Chen, Aaron Kindsvatter, Amanda Garces, Mark Koenig, Lori Mulloy, Stuart Elsberg, Rabbi Murray, Dana Decker, Neil Odell, Phil Dunwoody, Lisa Talmadge, Charles Hacker, Mary Trammell, Jen, Micaela Tucker, Justin Sherman, Chrystal Loyer, Jean Shockley/Richard Backer, Sue Ceglowski, Sam Sanders, TGS, Keith and Nina Sand-Loud, Louis Prue, The Zajdmans, Beth Kanell, Rabbi David Edleson, Wilmer Chavarria, Brett, Td Molnar, Jeff Francis, Alex Rimberg, Andy Robinson, Martha Molnar, Jill Post, Mary-Katherine Stone, Aaron Sacks, Debra Ann Pinsof-DePillis, Jay Nichols, Susan, Alison Novak, Rebekah, Susan Schoenfeld, Edye Graning, Tom Beck, M., Diane Berman, Peter Orner, Rabbi Ilene Haigh, Rachel Kahn, De-Dee Loftin-Davis, Angela Arsenault, SB, Nicholas Haigh, Cathy Williams, Andy.

Item A: Call to Order

Gleason called the public hearing to order at 6:31 p.m. and welcomed members of the public and said this is the third and final public hearing. She explained that the State Board of Education - Education Quality Standards (EQS) Committee's process began in April 2022. They received recommendations for changes to the EQS from the Act 1 Working Group. In May, 2022, the EQS Rule Update Committee began work on aligning the rules with the values of Act 1. In May 2023, the State Board of Education approved a draft of these rules to be filed with the Interagency Committee on Administrative Rules (ICAR) and established as schedule for three public hearings. This is the last of the three hearings. The deadline for formal public comment is the end of the day, October 15, 2023. In August of 2023, the State Board of Education also approved proposed changes to the Rules Series 2200 for Independent School approval to reflect the values of Act 1 of 2019; the EQS Committee and

the Rules Series 2200 committee will separately be considering comments for both rule series to ensure alignment with language.

Gleason explained the technical and logistical details of the public hearing process and advised that comments should be respectful, will be limited to three minutes per person and should be related to the proposed changes to the 2000 Rule Series. She invited and encouraged written public comment be provided to the State Board of Education at SBE.PublicComment@vermont.gov. Comments will be considered as potential revisions to the final rule.

Item C: Public to be Heard

The following members of the public addressed the State Board of Education - Education Quality Standards (EQS) Rule Update Committee:

Seth Riemer, Rabbi, Congregation Beth Allen, Bennington, VT

Flor Diaz-Smith, Incoming President of Vermont School Boards Association (VSBA)

Ethan Felson, Hartford, VT

Paula Cope, Consultant, Parent, Past President of Temple Sinai

Jennifer Prue, Temple Sinai, UVM Hillel

Eli Francis, Senior, U-32 High School

Jamie Spector, Community Member, Parent of Children at Twinfield, Social Worker

Phoebe, High School Senior

Jeremey Sternberg, Woodstock, VT, Shir Shalom

Dan Gottsegen, Hartland, VT, Shir Shalom

Jessica Meller, Jewish Communities of VT

Pam Goldman, Woodstock, Shir Shalom, Parent of two children

Vera Windish, Woodstock, student

Rep. Elizabeth Burrows, Windsor-1 District, Parent, School Board member

James Pasch, Senior Director for the National Litigation for the Anti-Defamation League

Jamie Carroll, Vermont, Beth Jacob Synagogue

Adrienne Raymond, Shrewsbury, Retired School Board Member

Susan Leff, Burlington, Past President of Temple Sinai

Avram Patt, House of Representatives, Lamoille-Washington District

Kathy Shapiro, Vermont

Liz Curry, Burlington, VT

Alyssa Chen, Education Justice Coalition, former educator

Aaron Kindsvatter, Foundation against Intolerance and Racism

Amanda Garces, Human Rights Commission, Former Co-Chair of Act 1 Working Group

Mark Koenig, Community Member, Parent

Lori Malloy, Parent of recent graduate, Woodstock High School

Stuart Elsberg, Norwich, VT

Rabbi Murray, Vermont

Dana Decker, Equity Coordinator, White Revier Valley Supervisory Union, Special Educator

Neil Odell, Norwich School Board, President of VSBA Board of Directors

Phil Dunwoody, Quechee, VT

Lisa Talmadge, Vermont Public Education Defense



Gleason thanked members for offering their comments and reminded the group that the deadline for formal public comment period is October 15, 2023. She added that written public comment could be submitted to SBE.PublicComment@vermont.gov.

Adjourn

The public hearing adjourned at 8:16 p.m.

Minutes prepared by Maureen Gaidys.

