

Special Education Advisory Panel

Approved Meeting Minutes

Meeting Place: Hybrid Meeting Microsoft Teams platform (Virtual Meeting) and The Classroom at UVM Extension, 327 US-302, Barre Montpelier Rd. Barre, VT 05641

Date: May 11, 2023

Present: Jacqui Kelleher, Dawn Campbell, Lisa Johnson, Meg Porcella, Susan Comerford, Alison Amidon, Katie Ballard, Dana Lesperance, Sandra Chittenden, Crista Yagjian, Rene Sanchez, Vickie Haskins Kim McNamara, Teagan Comeau, Tara Howe, Rachel Seelig

Guest: Cammie Naylor, Tracy Rubman, Guy Stephens, Thomas Faris

Agenda:

4:30-4:35	Call to order, Agenda changes, Approve minutes
4:35-5:20	Workgroups
5:20-5:25	Special Education Rule Change and Implementation Update from AOE
5:25-7:00	Review Unmet Needs Chart - Discussion and Update
7:00-7:15	Discuss Input and Selections for Blueprint Statewide Recommendation document
7:15-7:25	Clerk Vacancy and Executive Committee Elections
7:25-7:30	Public Comment
7:35	Adjourn

Call to order, Agenda changes, Approve minutes:

Meeting was called to order.

Workgroups:

Workgroups met to address areas of unmet need. Critical staff shortage The role of independent schools Exclusionary discipline

Special Education Rule Change and Implementation Update from AOE:

Meg Porcella discussed the rule changes and office hours that are coming up from the AOE.

Review Unmet Needs Chart - Discussion and Update:

Guy Stephens gave an update on restraint and exclusionary discipline.

See chart presented by Katie Ballard.

Contact Information: If you have questions about this document or would like additional information, please contact: Katie Ballard, Chair, at <u>Katie.ballard@vermont.gov</u>

Discuss Input and Selections for Blueprint Statewide Recommendation document:

Clerk Vacancy and Executive Committee Elections:

Rachel Seelig nominated Jacqui Kelleher for secretary/clerk. Sandra Chittenden seconded the motion.

A vote was held and passed unanimously.

Executive Committee nominations were held. Three spots for parents or people with disabilities are open. One spot for Professional. Teagan Comeau was nominated by Katie Ballard. Rachel Seelig seconded. Rachel Seelig nominated Crista Yagjian to remain on the Executive Committee as a professional, Dawn Campbell seconded. Scarlett nominated herself. This was seconded by Sandra Chittenden. Sandra Chittenden nominated Renee Sanchez to the Executive Committee. Dawn Campbell seconded. seconded.

Public comment:

Adjourn:

Meeting Schedule (hold the date):

<u>June 1, 2023</u> (In-person) 10:00am-4:05pm Agency of Transportation (AOT) VTTC Room 114 A and B; AOT, 1716 US-302, Berlin, VT 05602

