Primary tabs

Events

Combined Incident Reporting Software

Combined Incident Reporting Software (CIRS) assists in the gathering of information related to violations of school policies, state or federal statutes or regulations.

Please contact the department's Helpdesk at (802) 479-1044 with questions regarding data collections.

Monday, November 21, 2016 (All day) to Saturday, July 1, 2017 (All day)

Educator Census

Data collected to determine which core academic subject classes are taught by teachers who are highly qualified for their assignment in accordance with Title II of NCLB.

Please contact the agency's Helpdesk at (802) 479-1044 with questions regarding data collections.

Friday, January 13, 2017 (All day) to Friday, March 3, 2017 (All day)

NGSS Performance Assessment Workshop Series

Date: March 9, 2017

Location: Agency of Education, 219 North Main Street, Room 304 in Barre, VT

Contact: Kathy Renfrew at (802) 479-1448 or Pat Fitzsimmons at (802) 479-1425

During this series of three workshops, participants will be introduced to the NGSS bundles of performance expectations, develop performance assessments within an instructional sequence, apply quality criteria to their performance assessment, and construct a proficiency-based single-point rubric. Our goals are to increase understanding of the expectations within NGSS and support collaboration among science teacher leaders/coaches from across the state. This series is limited to 25 participants who commit to attending all three sessions.

Thursday, March 9, 2017 - 8:30am to 3:30pm

Teaching Strategies Gold Introductory Training

The Agency of Education is offering free Teaching Strategies Gold (TSG) Introductory training. TSG is the recommended formative assessment measure in Vermont. Prequalified prekindergarten programs are required to use TSG to document children’s progress. The 12-hour training sessions are offered through the state’s Early Learning Challenge Grant.

There are 3 two-day sessions held on sequential Saturdays. Participants are expected to attend both days of the training. Each day will be from 8:30 a.m. - 3:30 p.m. 

Space is limited to 20 participants. Register for Teaching Strategies Gold Introductory Training.

Sessions include:

  • Session 1: Saturdays: January 21 and January 28, Holiday Inn, South Burlington 
    • Canceled. New date to be determined. 
  • Session 2: Saturdays: March 11 and March 18, Counseling Services of Addison County, Middlebury 
    • Session 2 is full. 
  • Session 3: Saturdays, April 1 and April 8, Location TBD, White River Junction

Contact: Shirley Rawson

Saturday, March 11, 2017 (All day)

Understanding Trauma Webinar

This webinar will provide an overview of the impact developmental trauma has on childhood development across multiple domains including learning and cognition. Strategies for identifying and supporting children who have experienced developmental trauma at all three tiers of support will be presented. Participants will improve their understanding of how to create a learning environment that is trauma informed. Who should attend? School personnel including, teachers, Para educators, administrators, specialists, behavior interventions, school/mental health clinicians, others.

This learning opportunity and related costs are eligible for BEST/Act 230 funding. Please visit Vermont PBiS regularly for an updated list of dates and locations.

Cost: $50

More Information:  Registration

Wednesday, March 15, 2017 - 9:00am

Special Education Advisory Council

Date: March 15, 2017

Location: Agency of Education, 219 North Main Street, Room 304 in Barre, VT

Meeting Materials: Agendas will be available 7 days prior to the meeting by request.

ContactTonya Rutkowski or call (802)479-1245

Wednesday, March 15, 2017 - 9:30am to 1:30pm

Non-Violent Crisis Intervention (CPI) Training

This full-day workshop or half-day refresher provides training in a safe, non-harmful behavior management system designed to help human service workers provide for the best possible care, welfare and safety of children who become out-of-control or physically aggressive.

Who should attend? Anyone is welcome. It is recommended that participants attend in teams.

Completion of the 8-hour training leads to CPI certification.

If you have already completed CPI training within the last 18 months, there is a 3 hour CPI refresher to review CPI principles and strategies as well as opportunities for practice and problem solving. Completion of this training will result in re-certification.

Registration forms are due ten days before the scheduled training you plan to attend. Space is limited and participants will be accepted on a first-come-first-served basis!

Full Course is: 8:00 - 4:30 (8:00 – 8:30 registration) - morning refreshments and lunch included

Refresher Course is: 1:00 - 4:30 - afternoon snack included

This learning opportunity and related costs are eligible for BEST/Act 230 funding. Please visit Vermont PBiS regularly for an updated list of dates and locations.

Location: Holiday Inn, Williston Rd., South Burlington, VT

Cost: $115 - Full Course, $73 - Refresher

More Information: Registration

Friday, March 17, 2017 (All day)

Pages

Contact Us

Vermont Agency of Education
Secretary Rebecca Holcombe
219 North Main Street, Suite 402
Barre, VT 05641

(802) 479-1030 | aoe.edinfo@vermont.gov
Staff Directory | Division and Team Phone Numbers

Connect with Us

Twitter icon
Facebook icon
Instagram icon
Google+ icon
YouTube icon
RSS icon

all-mega-footer-events-list

all-pages-mega-footer-website-policies

all-pages-mega-footer-nondiscrimination

all-mega-footer-news

all-pages-mega-footer-website-feedback

all-mega-footer-mandated-reporter