Harassment, Hazing and Bullying Advisory Council

The Harassment, Hazing, and Bullying Prevention Advisory Council (HHB) was established by the Secretary of Education persuant to Act 129 of 2012 to act as an advisory council to provide advice and recommendations on harassment, hazing, and bullying prevention strategies and resources; and to coordinate statewide activities related to the prevention of and response to harassment, hazing, and bullying. The council reports annually in January to the state board and the house and senate committees on education.

Mission Statement

The Harassment, Hazing, and Bullying Advisory Council envisions inclusive, healthy, and collaborative learning environments for all Vermont schools that are free of bullying, hazing, and harassment. We value multicultural learning environments and school communities free of prejudice and discrimination, where all students and adults feel welcome, respected, safe, and empowered to promote fairness and equality on behalf of themselves and others.

Model Policy and Procedures

All Vermont public and independent schools are required to have Harassment, Hazing and Bullying prevention policies. Review the HHB model policy and procedure developed by the Secretary in consultation with the Harassment, Hazing, and Bullying Prevention Advisory Council.




Council Members

Bernice Garnett, Chair
Education Professor, University of Vermont

Karen Richards
Executive Director, Human Rights Commission

Kim Brittenham
Community Access Coordinator, Vermont Center for Independent Living

Mike Dreiblatt
President, StandUpToBullying.net

Jeff Fannon
General Counsel, Vermont-National Education Association

Jeff Francis
Executive Director, Vermont Superintendents Association

Lucie Garand
Government Relations Specialist, Downs Rachlin Martin PLLC

Rebecca Holcombe
Secretary, Vermont Agency of Education

Kathy Johnson
Independent Consultant

Emily Simmons
Director of Legal and Policy Services, Vermont School Boards Association

Dana J. Kaplan, MS
Director of Education, Outright Vermont

Mill Moore
Executive Director, Vermont Independent Schools Association

Ken Page
Executive Director, Vermont Principals’ Association

Curtiss Reed, Jr.
Executive Director, Vermont Partnerships for Fairness and Diversity

Henri Sparks
Equity Director, Burlington School District

Contact Us

Vermont Agency of Education
Secretary Rebecca Holcombe
219 North Main Street, Suite 402
Barre, VT 05641

(802) 479-1030 | aoe.edinfo@vermont.gov
Staff Directory | Division Phone Numbers

Connect with Us

Twitter icon
Facebook icon
Instagram icon
Google+ icon
YouTube icon
RSS icon