Ethnic and Social Equity Standards Advisory Working Group

The Ethnic and Social Equity Standards Advisory Working Group was created by Act 1 of 2019 to review standards for student pefromance adopted by the State Board of Education and recommend to the State Board updates and additional standards to recognize fully the history, contributions and perspectives of ethnic groups and social groups. These recommended additional standards shall be designed to:

  1. Increase cultural competency of students in prekindergarten through grade 12;
  2. Increase attention to the history, contributions and perspectives of ethnic groups and social groups;
  3. Promote critical thinking regarding the history, contributions and perspectives of ethnic groups and social groups;
  4. Commit the school to eradicating any racial bias in its curriculum;
  5. Provide, across its curriculum, content and methods that enable students to explore safely questions of identity, race equality and racism; and
  6. Ensure that the basic curriculum and extracurricular programs are welcoming to all students and take into account parental concerns about religion or culture.

The Working Group may review State statuates, State Board rules, and school district and supervisory union policies that concern or impact standards for student performance or curriculum used in schools. 




Working Group Members

Amanda Garces, Chair
Vermont Human Rights Commission Designee

Mark Hage, Vice Chair

Natasha Eckart Baning
Paraeducator, Paine Mountain School District
Vermont-National Education Association Designee

Maxwell Barrows

Celilo Bauman-Swain

Heather Bouchey
Deputy Secretary of Education
Agency of Education Designee

Infinite Culcleasure

Xusana Davis
Racial Equity Executive Director
State of Vermont

Asma Elhuni

Jade Hazard
Director of Cuirruculum, Lamoille North SU/SD
Vermont Curriculum Leaders Association Designee

Mara Iverson

Bonnie Johnson-Aten
Vermont Principals Association Designee

Heather Thomas Lynn
Vermont School Board Association Designee

Barbra Marden

Chelsea Myers
Director of Professional Development and Communications, VSA
Vermont Superintendents Association Designee

Bruce Pandya

Cynthia Reyes

Miakoda Schultz

Vera Sheehan

Amber Wylie
Vermont Independent Schools Association Designee


Contact Us

Vermont Agency of Education
Secretary Daniel M. French
1 National Life Drive, Davis 5
Montpelier, VT 05620-2501

Web and Document Accessibility Policy​
Public Records Requests

Phone: (802) 828-1130 | Fax: (802) 828-6430
Staff Directory | Division Phone Numbers







Connect with Us

Twitter icon
Facebook icon
Instagram icon
Google+ icon
YouTube icon
RSS icon