Harassment, Hazing and Bullying Advisory Council

The Harassment, Hazing, and Bullying Prevention Advisory Council (HHB) was established by the Secretary of Education pursuant to Act 129 of 2012 to act as an advisory council to provide advice and recommendations on harassment, hazing, and bullying prevention strategies and resources; and to coordinate statewide activities related to the prevention of and response to harassment, hazing, and bullying. The council reports annually in January to the state board and the house and senate committees on education.

Mission Statement

The Harassment, Hazing, and Bullying Advisory Council envisions inclusive, healthy, and collaborative learning environments for all Vermont schools that are free of bullying, hazing, and harassment. We value multicultural learning environments and school communities free of prejudice and discrimination, where all students and adults feel welcome, respected, safe, and empowered to promote fairness and equality on behalf of themselves and others.

Model Policy and Procedures

All Vermont public and independent schools are required to have Harassment, Hazing and Bullying prevention policies. Review the HHB model policy and procedure developed by the Secretary in consultation with the Harassment, Hazing, and Bullying Prevention Advisory Council. Review the interpretation of the HHB model policy and procedure.




Council Members

Henri Sparks. Chair
Equity Director, Burlington School District

Ken Canning
Multi-Line Program Manager, VSBIT

Amanda Garces
Director of Policy, Education and Outreach, Human Rights Commission Designee

Jeff Fannon
General Counsel, Vermont-National Education Association

Jeff Francis
Executive Director, Vermont Superintendents Association

Lucie Garand
Government Relations Specialist, Downs Rachlin Martin PLLC

Mill Moore
Executive Director, Vermont Independent Schools Association

Curtiss Reed, Jr.
Executive Director, Vermont Partnerships for Fairness and Diversity

Jay Nichols
Executive Director, Vermont Principals' Association

Mara Iverson
Director of Education, Outright Vermont

Bernice Garnett
Associate Professor, UVM, College of Education and Social Service 

Sue Ceglowski
Executive Director, Vermont School Boards Association

Daniel M. French, Ed.D.
Secretary of Education

Contact Us

Vermont Agency of Education
Secretary Daniel M. French
1 National Life Drive, Davis 5
Montpelier, VT 05620-2501

Web and Document Accessibility Policy​
Public Records Requests

Phone: (802) 828-1130 | Fax: (802) 828-6430
Staff Directory | Division Phone Numbers







Connect with Us

Twitter icon
Facebook icon
Instagram icon
Google+ icon
YouTube icon
RSS icon