Vermont Educators Win Presidential Award for Excellence in Mathematics and Science

07 September 2016

BARRE – President Obama this week named four Vermont teachers recipients of the prestigious Presidential Award for Excellence in Mathematics and Science Teaching (PAEMST). The award is the nation’s highest honor for U.S. mathematics and science teachers for grades K-12. The awards program is administered by the National Science Foundation (NSF) on behalf of the White House.

Laura Botte-Fretz, a mathematics teacher at Edmunds Middle School in Burlington, and Lisa Marks, a science teacher at Ludlow Elementary School, received awards in the grades K-6 cohort.

Katherine McCann, a mathematics teacher at U-32 Middle High School, and Mary Louise McLaughlin, a science teacher at Barre Town Middle and Elementary School, were awarded in the grades 7-12 cohort.

“These Vermont science educators have demonstrated exemplary accomplishments in their content learning, pedagogy, ongoing self-improvement, and leadership,” said Gail Hall, a science specialist at the Vermont Agency of Education. “We congratulate them on this well-deserved recognition.”

Read the full release.

Contact Us

Vermont Agency of Education
Secretary Daniel M. French
1 National Life Drive, Davis 5
Montpelier, VT 05620-2501

Web and Document Accessibility Policy​
Public Records Requests

Phone: (802) 828-1130 | Fax: (802) 828-6430
Staff Directory | Division Phone Numbers







Connect with Us

Twitter icon
Facebook icon
Instagram icon
Google+ icon
YouTube icon
RSS icon